Debug ๐Ÿฆ | Get Angry ๐Ÿค’ | Refresh ๐ŸŽฏ| Come clean๐Ÿ˜‰

Debug ๐Ÿฆ | Get Angry ๐Ÿค’ | Refresh ๐ŸŽฏ| Come clean๐Ÿ˜‰

ยท

2 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

As most young people are waiting to celebrate Valentine's day, I am here blurred in front of the screen fixing the discrepancies I myself created, Really??

A routine of each day of February, from 6 AM to bedtime involved three prominent corners of a triangle, reading (both tech and non-tech stuff), writing some code and testing them, then at near-midnight a bit of sleep take part.

Debugging being the most challenging part of all, I spend a couple of hours inspecting, and if I am lucky enough to fix the bugs that will be a point of calling off a day๐Ÿค’...

I usually stay put during the whole debugging process so that I can understand fully each corner point of the bugs; where they reside, why they aroused, and possibly write them down...

I came to know that documenting during debugging sessions is very important for bug tracking and maintenance... I sometimes find a fellow developer to spot some code-writing traits that can lead to bugs in the future ๐ŸŽ‰

As a VS Code user, I find some extensions very helpful while tracking down some bugs, few of them include Error lens, ES7 + React/Redux/React-Native snippets, Dart, Flutter, Polacode, Pubspec Assist, React Native Tool among many others.

These tools help at identifying where I might go wrong while writing or when something is missing in my code. I usually take 10 to 20 minutes of fresh air or a walk to freshen my brain for this energy-consuming process.

I remember one day while debugging one of my React Native projects I ran into an error that made me stuck for almost 3 hours at night until I decided to take a nap. The next day I confronted one of my fellows React Native developer Stephen who came to notice a typo in my code that instead of writing StyleSheet I wrote Stylesheet. After he showed me what has been messing with my codes, I said to myself in Swahili " Kwani hii dunia ni yetu? " translated as " Is this world even ours?".

Wrapping up the bitter-and-sweet portions of debugging I grabbed some tips worth sharing;

  1. Debugging is not a literature task - Concentrate On The Details.

  2. Spare yourself enough time to figure out the exact problem - Debugging needs time.

  3. Ask for help when stuck or debug with someone - Teamwork saves time.

  4. Take some time to refresh - Debugging tires.

ย