Dev Retro 2022 - From Procrastinating To Doing

Dev Retro 2022 - From Procrastinating To Doing

" Who has found himself/herself through what he/she is doing has found a cheat gem worth a lifetime of freedom" ^ John Lugendo.

**..... FINAL YEAR AT THE UNIVERSITY..... **

As the final year of my university studies, 2022 was entirely a no-joke challenging year, from working on my final year project to finding a way out after studies; So where will I be after this adventure? What will I do to stay on track in this demanding World? Should I take a break while figuring out the next step? and many more complex questions.

Despite those confusing thoughts as a growing young man I always believed in winning, conquering, and finding a way out of whatever situations I'm in at a time. That courage and belief carried me through a lot of uncomfortable situations and thank God I am always doubtful of many things but never of my potential to grow and learn.

Since 2022 was the year of our country's national census, so while I was preparing for my final university exams I applied for the position of Census ICT Officer, and lucky me I was selected for an interview that was held the week after exams ended. Luckily again I got selected and worked for the next one and a half months as a census ICT Officer.

After that time a new life began - the life of being self-reliant financially just after university studies and that's where I needed the whole me mentally fit and strong to cope with the pressure around me. From career to individual desires.

It is during that period when my mindset toward developing myself and things around me changed, and the way I approach and grab opportunities as they came.

I was required to be fully responsible for myself financially, this is where things started to ponder in my head. But as always, I believed in winning, and soon on a no-name day I will find the way out.

..... 2022 AS A SOFTWARE DEVELOPER.....

In the Software Development arena, 2022 was a super year for me, I worked on various projects and stepped up my programming experience to another level.

It is in this year that I met friends who work in the software development field and shared their experiences and many good kinds of stuff with me.

Not to forget, it is in 2022 when I get an opportunity to participate in the ISACA - TANZANIA CHAPTER Mentorship program which lasted for 3 months from April to July where I was mentored by an Internal editor of NMB named Jacqueline Balige. It was a wonderful experience and it came at the right time for me. The mentorship program ended in July 2022 but I must say I'm so lucky Ms. Jacqueline accepted to be my career mentor even after the program ended.

Through the program, I got enlightened on my potential in the World, and the way I can grow and build my career. From negotiation skills to communication skills. Not to mention time management, self-exploration, and many other skills that are vital for a dynamic career like software development.

It was these skills that skyrocketed my desire to relentlessly pursue to do more work on many projects, read many books, and share what I'm knowledgeable and skilled in with others.

..... GRABBING THE FIRST CORPORATE JOB...

As days went by, I kept my head up despite the hardships I'd been going through, working to keep myself in shape in case any deal arrive at my door.

It was midday on one of my idle days, just 2 weeks after I graduated with Bachelor's degree in Computer Science when my phone rang and I was invited to a meeting the next day, I went there and who knew that it was my day, as I left there I wasn't believing that I was just recruited to work as a Mobile App Developer.

I can not tell much about my work experience for the first few months of work but as a fresher developer, I still work to understand the corporate world and how to stay on track with it, especially in this digital era.

As the year 2022 ended I kept saying to myself "Who am I to be graced this much? 2023 I must do something for others".

@2023 #ToGrowth #ToLearning #ToCoding